Updated 10 June, 2013



Website design by

2011 WOW! Award Winners


Bird Boy
Kate Horsley, (Wales)  
Eleanor Hooker, (Tipperary)
New World
Kevin Graham, (Dublin)


Tom, aged eighteen by
Annemarie Neary, (London)
Earthworms by
Danielle McLaughlin, (Cork)

A Moment of Clarity by
Gerry Boland, (Roscommon)


Special Discount Prices

Online Bookshop

Log on here now

Special Discount Prices! Wordsonthestreet
Online Bookshop

Log on here now

The 2011 WOW! Awards
Winners now published.

For details of the 2012 Awards see below.

No. of Entries

Details of the 2012 WOW! Awards

WOW! is an anthology of the best entries for the WOW! Award.
There are three levels of WOW! Award

                                 WOW! 1 Award         WOW! 2 Award        WOW!3 Award

The WOW! Awards are for both poetry and fiction.
The third edition of WOW! will appear in the spring of 2012 and will feature the three WOW! Award Winners in both categories plus 7 runners-up.
You could be in it!
The closing date for entries for a WOW! Award is October 1st 2011.


Poetry: maximum number of lines 50
Fiction: maximum number of words 3000

Entries by email as a MS Word attachment to wowaward@wordsontheweb.net
Or by post to:
WOW! Award
Six San Antonio Park, Salthill, Galway, Ireland.

Remember the closing date is October 1st

Entry Fee
Poetry: €5 per poem   Two Poems €8.   Three Poems €10
Fiction €10 per story  Two Stories €16. Three Stories €20

For email entries make payment by Paypal here.

No. of Entries

You may enter any number of poems or stories and pay in your own currency.
Your name and address on your entry should be the same as you use on Paypal.
For postal entries make cheques payable to Wordsonthestreet and post your entry to the above address

The WOW! Awards are particularly attractive to those who have a short publishing record and to the emergent writer seeking a more open publishing opportunity.

There are three awards in each category plus 7 runners-up in each category. All will be published in the print issue of WOW!

Entries will be judged anonymously. Your name should not appear on the entry but include full contact details on a separate sheet.

Good Luck!

Prize-winners: Kevin Graham, Eleanor Hooker, Annemarie Neary, Danielle McLaughlin with Galway City Arts Officer, James Harrold.
The Short-list of the WOW! Awards 2011.
WOW! Anthology 2011
Price €10